Another Love Post

loveIn Western culture we speak of love every day.  We love our family, we love our house, we love McDonald’s, Chick-Fil-A, Taco Bell, or Subway.  We love a good ball game and especially our favorite team. I saw a bumper sticker the other day that said, “I ♥ My Pastor.”  The Bible speaks of different focal points of our affection (love).  Jesus said the two greatest commands are about love; Love God with all you are (the Shema of Deut 6:1-9) and to love others like you love you (cf. Matt 22:36 – 40).  Those are positive directions of love, however, I also found a list of ten (10) focal points of love that we should avoid.

  1. Love of money – 1 Tim 6:10
  2. Love of self – 2 Tim 3:2
  3. Love of worldly pleasure – 2 Tim 3:4
  4. Love of leadership (power) – 3 Joh 9
  5. Love the world – 2 Tim 4:10 (1 Joh 2:15-17)
  6. Love of darkness (sin) – Joh 3:19
  7. Love of praise (to self) – Joh 12:42-43
  8. Love of gain from wrong doing – 2 Pe 2:15
  9. Love of chief seats – Luk 11:43
  10. Love of titles – Luk 20:46

Remember to “set your affections on things above, not on things of the earth” (Col 3:2).

– Scott

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.